Each year, WOTA recognizes the efforts of exceptional Occupational Therapy practitioners in the state. These awards are based on nominations from our membership. WOTA’s president presents these awards at the Annual Conference in the fall of each year.

The deadline for nominations is September 20 each year.

Below are the awards we accept nominations for.

Rosemary Funk Award. This award recognizes an OT practitioner who has made long term contributions to WOTA and the profession of occupational therapy. It is the “lifetime achievement award” which recognizes a WOTA member who has provided on-going leadership to WOTA through long term contributions and commitment to WOTA.

Roster of Merit Award. This award recognizes an occupational therapy practitioner whose knowledge, expertise and efforts have made a significant contribution to the advancement of occupational therapy as a profession. This award recognizes a WOTA member who has fostered the growth of occupational therapy through education, research, legislative involvement, or administration.

Outstanding Practice Award. This award recognizes an occupational therapy practitioner who provides exceptional treatment and skill in the application of theory and therapeutic techniques. Award nominees will have been in practice for minimum of five years specializing in an area and are recognized by their peers as an “expert” in their field.

Service Award. This award recognizes an occupational therapy practitioner who has provided significant service beyond the scope of expectations to WOTA or the profession through time or task specific activities within the past year.

Presidential Commendation. This award expresses the appreciation of WOTA to individuals or groups who are not members of WOTA and are not necessarily occupational therapy practitioners, for extraordinary contributions to the advancement of occupational therapy. This may include legislative involvement, political support, advocacy efforts, or leadership in promoting occupational therapy and
health care issues.

OT/OTA Partnership Award. This award recognizes a team of OTA(s) and OT(s) who, through a consistent working relationship, provide exceptional client care, promote the profession of
occupational therapy and exemplify the collaborative and professional partnership between OTs and OTAs. The team will have worked together for a minimum of two years and all must be current members
of WOTA. Award recipients will be announced by the WOTA President at this year’s Annual Conference.

Member of the Year. This award recognizes an OT or an OTA who has made outstanding contributions to the field of occupational therapy in the State of Washington and/or WOTA. This award recognizes an individual who has worked for WOTA in a variety of capacities (held multiple offices, served on multiple
committees, taken on multiple projects) for at least five years.